FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure

We are many things at once. We're one of the largest organizations in the Leibniz Association, a union of leading German research institutes and also a member of the German Mittelstand. As an organization with a public mandate, we pride ourselves on our neutrality and reliability. Yet we also boast the professionalism of a service provider that has been successfully competing in international markets for many decades.

Our Profile

FIZ Karlsruhe is a private company and a recognized organization of public interest. The majority of our expenditures are covered by revenues generated in international markets – some 78% in 2016, an extremely high "self-financing rate". The remainder is funded by the German federal government and the German states. We have some 313 employees at three locations in Germany and at one location in the US. Our headquarters is in Karlsruhe.

 

We understand "information infrastructure" to mean all content, technology, methods, processes, and associated services needed to generate, share, and preserve knowledge. With the digitization of the sciences, the importance of information infrastructure as an enabler of research has grown immensely.

 

With our activities, we are making crucial contributions to improving the information infrastructure available to researchers: We provide valuable information to researchers both in academia and in the private sector. To this end, we curate and index a large volume of patent and research data from various sources, and we develop and operate various innovative services and e-research solutions. Last but not least, we provide guidance to our customers, helping them to use our services both capably and efficiently.

 

With STN International, our flagship service, we serve international market leaders in the pharmaceutical and chemicals industries, large patent offices, and research institutes. Yet we are one of the largest institutions of this kind.

 

Out highest priority is the quality of our services. Accordingly, we are engaged in various projects to keep our services at the cutting edge. This includes research into new techniques for text mining and semantic analysis.

Our Mission

FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure GmbH was founded in 1977 by the German Federal Government and the Federal States as a scientific information center. Today it is the largest non-academic information infrastructure institution of its kind in Germany, with the German Federal Government and the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg holding the majority of shares.

 

FIZ Karlsruhe’s tasks have considerably changed over time and its public mission statement has been adapted accordingly:

 

 “…to provide scientific information to researchers and scientists, to develop appropriate products and services for a scientific information infrastructure, and to make them available to the public. To this end FIZ Karlsruhe also carries out research and development on its own initiative. The aim is to strengthen the transfer of knowledge in Germany and abroad and to support the promotion of innovation as well as the collaboration in science and research.“ (Articles of Association, July 2017, Art. 2, clause 1)

Management
Management
Executive Bodies & Boards
Executive Bodies & Boards

Our Mission Statement:

Advancing Science

 

Our mission is to promote the further development of the sciences.

We act as a service provider and partner to researchers, to provide the tools and conditions needed to pose cutting-edge research questions, and undertake innovative research endeavors.

 

Learn more about Advancing Science

Company History
Company History
Leibniz Association
Leibniz Association

Member of the Leibniz Association

FIZ Karlsruhe is one of  the 91 institutes of the Leibniz Association. All of these institutes, no matter what their discipline, adhere to the motto coined by Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716):

 

Theoria cum praxi: science for the benefit of mankind.

We foster knowledge: We index quality information and provide scientists and researchers with scientific information and services.

Facts & Figures

Founding year: 1977

Annual budget (2016): 47,5 million EUR

Staff (2016): 313

Own revenues (2016): about 78%

President & CEO: Sabine Brünger-Weilandt

FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institut für Informationsinfrastruktur GmbH

Wir sind beides: Eines der größten Institute in der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft und zugleich ein großes mittelständisches Unternehmen. Damit verbinden wir die Neutralität und Verlässlichkeit einer Einrichtung mit öffentlichem Auftrag mit der hohen Professionalität eines Dienstleisters, der seit Jahrzehnten am internationalen Markt erfolgreich ist.

Unser Profil

FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institut für Informationsinfrastruktur ist eine GmbH mit anerkannter Gemeinnützigkeit und einem sehr hohen Eigenfinanzierungsgrad (2016, ca. 78 %), der am internationalen Markt erwirtschaftet wird. Bund und Länder fördern unsere forschungsbasierten Aktivitäten. 313 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sind an drei Standorten in Deutschland sowie bei einer Tochtergesellschaft in den USA im Einsatz. Unser Hauptsitz ist in Karlsruhe.

 

Informationsinfrastruktur verstehen wir als Gesamtheit von Inhalten, Technologien, Methoden, Prozessen und Diensten, die es ermöglichen, Wissen zu generieren, zu verbreiten und zu erhalten. Informationsinfrastruktur ist Teil der Forschungsinfrastruktur; sie gewinnt im Zuge der digitalen Transformation der Wissenschaft immer mehr an Bedeutung.

 

Mit unseren Aktivitäten leisten wir wesentliche Beiträge zur Informationsinfrastruktur: Wir informieren Forscher in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft weltweit. Hierfür erschließen wir sehr große Mengen an Patenten und Forschungsinformation aus unterschiedlichsten Quellen. Für die präzise Recherche sowie intelligente Analyse dieser Daten entwickeln und betreiben wir innovative Informations-Services sowie e-Research-Lösungen, z. B. für vertrauliches Datenmanagement. Wir beraten unsere Kunden, damit sie unsere Services kompetent und effizient nutzen können.

 

Wir gelten als eine der größten Einrichtungen dieser Art in Deutschland. Allein mit unserem Flaggschiff STN International erreichen wir die internationalen Marktführer in der Pharma- und Chemieindustrie ebenso wie alle großen Patentämter und Forschungseinrichtungen.

 

Höchste Priorität hat für uns die Qualität unserer Services. Um ihr hohes Niveau zu erhalten und weiterzuentwickeln forschen wir – z. B. an neuen Verfahren des Text-Minings und der semantischen Analyse.

Unser Auftrag

FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institut für Informationsinfrastruktur GmbH wurde 1977 gemeinsam von Bund und Ländern als naturwissenschaftliches Fachinformationszentrum gegründet. Heute ist es eine der größten außeruniversitären Informationsinfrastruktureinrichtungen in Deutschland, mehrheitlich im Besitz des Bundes und des Landes Baden-Württemberg.

 

Das Aufgabenspektrum hat sich im Laufe der Zeit deutlich verändert und dementsprechend wurde der öffentliche Auftrag angepasst:

 

„…Wissenschaft und Forschung mit wissenschaftlicher Information zu versorgen, entsprechende Produkte und Dienstleistungen zu entwickeln und öffentlich zugänglich zu machen. Zu diesem Zweck führt sie (die Gesellschaft, Anm. d. Red.) auch selbst gewählte Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben durch. Ziel ist es, den nationalen und internationalen Wissenstransfer zu stärken und die Innovationsförderung ebenso wie die Zusammenarbeit in Wissenschaft und Forschung zu unterstützen.“ (Gesellschaftsvertrag, Juli 2017, § 2, Abs. 1)

Management
Management
Organe und Gremien
Organe und Gremien

Unser Leitmotiv ist

Advancing Science

 

Damit meinen wir: „die Wissenschaften in ihrer Weiterentwicklung fördern“. Mit anderen Worten: FIZ Karlsruhe hat den Anspruch, als Dienstleister und Partner der Forschung die Grundlagen und Rahmenbedingungen dafür zu schaffen, dass neue Forschungsfragen gestellt werden und innovative Forschungsvorhaben in Angriff genommen werden können.

 

Mehr zu unserem Leitmotiv Advancing Science

Unternehmensgeschichte
Unternehmensgeschichte
Leibniz-Gemeinschaft
Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

FIZ Karlsruhe ist eines von 91 Instituten der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. Das Motto, geprägt von Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716), verbindet alle diese Einrichtungen über ihre jeweiligen Forschungsdisziplinen hinweg.

 

Theoria cum praxi: Wissenschaft zum Wohl und Nutzen des Menschen.

 

Wir fördern Wissen: Wir erschließen Qualitätsinformationen und versorgen Wissenschaft und Forschung mit wissenschaftlicher Information und Dienstleistung.

Fakten & Zahlen

Gründung: 1977

Jahresbudget (2016): 47,5 Mio. EUR

Mitarbeiter (2016): 313

Eigenfinanzierungsquote (2016): ca. 78 %

Direktorin und Geschäftsführerin: Sabine Brünger-Weilandt