Information Service Engineering

In order to develop and provide new information services, the research department Information Service Engineering investigates models and methods for efficient semantic indexing, aggregation, linking, and retrieval of comprehensive heterogeneous and distributed data sources. To this end, both statistic and linguistic analysis methods (Natural Language Processing) as well as machine learning in combination with symbolic logic and interference mechanisms are applied.

The activities focus on:

  • Automatic analyses (text and multi-media) with special emphasis on high efficiency and result quality. Besides fundamental new approaches, a combination of already existing methods (e.g., linguistic methods) are persued for text mining as well as for machine learning based classification of images and videos.
  • Semantic analyses based on the results of raw data analysis in combination with existing metadata in order to sustainably index and automatically re-use document content, with a focus on accuracy and fault tolerance. This encompasses the following relevant sub-disciplines: Integration of heterogeneous meta data and content indexing via Named Entity Recognition, Named Entity Linking and Common Entity Linking
  • Efficient semantic annotation of multi-media documents dependent on the document modality with automated user assistance (semi-automated annotation) as well as context-sensitive visualization and re-use of user generated annotations.
  • Synchronization and integration of distributed heterogeneous knowledge bases with respect to provenance, reliability, diversity, multilingualism, and topicality (real-time).
  • Semantic search, i.e., based on the results achieved via semantic analysis or after semantic annotation, the obtained semantic information is used to improve the retrieval process with respect to the completeness and accuracy of the search results.
  • Explorative search and intelligent recommendation systems. There is a smooth transition from semantic search to explorative search and recommendation systems. While with semantic search results are generated based on semantic similarity, explorative search considers furtherrelationships among documents and their meaningful content elements.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Harald Sack
Vice President Information Service Engineering

 

Phone: +49 7247 808 195 (Office Assistant)
harald.sack(at)remove-this.fiz-karlsruhe(dot)de

Professur für Information Service Engineering

Zur Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von neuen Informationsdiensten werden im Forschungsbereich Information Service Engineering Modelle und Methoden zur effizienten semantischen Erschließung, zur Aggregation und Vernetzung sowie zum Retrieval umfangreicher heterogener und verteilter Datenquellen untersucht. Zum Einsatz gelangen dabei sowohl Verfahren der statistischen als auch linguistischen Analyse (Natural Language Processing) und Methoden des maschinellen Lernens in Kombination mit symbolischer Logik und Inferenzverfahren.

Folgende Schwerpunkte stehen dabei im Fokus:

  • Automatische Analyse (Text und Multimedia) mit besonderem Augenmerk auf Ergebnisqualität und hohe Effizienz. Es werden sowohl grundlegend neue Ansätze verfolgt als auch die Kombination bestehender Verfahren (z.B. linguistische Verfahren) im Bereich des Text Minings und maschinelle Lernverfahren zur Bild- und Videoklassifikation genutzt
  • Semantische Analyse aufbauend auf Rohdaten-Analyseergebnissen in Kombination mit bereits vorhandenen Metadaten zur nachhaltigen Erschließung und automatisierten Weiternutzung von Dokumenteninhalten mit dem Schwerpunkt Ergebnisqualität und Fehlertoleranz. Dies beinhaltet folgende relevante Teilforschungsaspekte: Integration heterogener Metadaten und inhaltliche Erschließung über Named Entity Recognition, Named Entity Linking und Common Entity Linking
  • Effiziente semantische Annotation multimedialer Dokumente in Abhängigkeit der Modalität der zu annotierenden Dokumente bei automatisierter Hilfestellung für den Benutzer (semi-automatische Annotation) sowie kontextsensitive Visualisierung und Nachnutzung der benutzergenerierten Annotationen
  • Harmonisierung und Integration verteilter heterogener Wissensbasen unter Berücksichtigung von Provenienz, Zuverlässigkeit, Diversivität, Multilingualität und Aktualität (Echtzeit)
  • Semantische Suche, i.e. basierend auf den Ergebnissen der semantischen Analyse bzw. nach erfolgter semantischer Annotation werden die vorliegenden semantischen Informationen zur Verbesserung des Retrievals bzgl. Vollständigkeit und Genauigkeit der erzielten Suchergebnisse angewendet
  • Explorative Suche und intelligente Empfehlungssysteme, wobei der Übergang zwischen semantischer Suche hin zur explorativen Suche und Empfehlungssystemen ein fließender ist. Während bei der semantischen Suche die semantische Ähnlichkeit zur Auswahl von Suchergebnissen führt, zieht die explorative Suche weitere (inhaltliche) relationale Zusammenhänge zwischen den zu durchsuchenden Dokumenten und deren bedeutungstragenden Elementen in Betracht
Prof. Dr. Harald Sack

Prof. Dr. Harald Sack
Bereichsleiter Information Service Engineering

 

Tel.: +49 7247 808 311 (Sekretariat)
harald.sack(at)remove-this.fiz-karlsruhe(dot)de